Fugitive Dad Arrested on Vacation – Where are the Children?

Family Court awarded sole custody to a wanted fugitive…and now he has been arrested while taking my children on “vacation”..

Towards the end of July, my children told me that Dad promised them a vacation but “he doesn’t have any money” so “it is going to be a surprise”. 

The father, Mr. X. was being extremely secretive about his plans and kept the children guessing until the day he loaded up his black Ford Explorer and headed off for parts unknown. I was getting visits every other weekend but Mr. X abruptly cancelled the visits for the rest of the month without any explanation. Since Mr. X refuses to communicate to me, I had no idea where he was taking my children or when he would return.

About a week later, I got a phone call from my children stating “We are in Wisconsin“.

I immediately grew concerned because Mr. X has 3 open arrest warrants in that state. In fact, Mr. X has been dodging the authorities in WI for several years and takes a special delight in being able to outsmart them by making trips into the state and leaving undetected. Sure enough, when I looked up his record online, Mr. X was arrested on the warrants and released on a $500 bond on August 12th. He has an upcoming court appearance on August 26th at 8:30 am before Judge S.booking2

I am concerned for the safety and well-being of my two children. My daughter has expressed feeling uncomfortable and afraid of her “Evills” relatives who live in Milwaukee, and who have harbored Mr. X as a fugitive in the past. They may be with that family now. I don’t know where my children are staying or who is caring for them. I don’t know how my children will be impacted by Mr. X’s criminal proceedings. I don’t know when my children will return home. Mr. X is refusing to communicate to me or share any information about the children. Family Court has restricted my parental rights so severely that I have no recourse to protect my children. And every phone call I have made to police, the circuit court, the county in WI has been a maze hitting a dead end.. I love my children with all my heart. Not knowing has been agony.

Family Court knew Mr. X was a wanted fugitive, they were warned about the negative implications should Mr. X be arrested and the children were with him..now the worst has happened. Who is protecting my children now? Who is looking out for their well being?

–Emily Court/M21

___________

Background: Hennepin County 4th Judicial Court awarded sole custody to Mr. X, an alleged abuser with 12+ documented allegations of child abuse against him, and whose own children were homeless for 18 months after he assaulted me (right in front of the children) and threw his own family out on the street like trash.

Mr. X also had 3 separate arrest warrants against him in the State of Wisconsin and has been living  as a wanted fugitive for over a decade.

Hennepin County Family Court and Guardian ad Litem Jamie Manning were fully aware of Mr. X’s criminal history and had no problem awarding sole custody of two vulnerable children to this wanted fugitive. In fact, concerned maternal relatives of the children came forward to the Court to express concerns about Mr. X’s dangerous behavior, and arrest warrants several years ago. Mr. X since has waged a war of false accusations against the relatives, and even filed a false criminal complaint against them (and when that complaint was being closed due to lack of evidence, Mr. X manipulated his own pre-school age daughter to in an attempt to frame the innocent relatives for a crime that never happened).

Not only did Hennepin County Family Court ignore the concerns of these relatives but told the me, and put it in a recent court order, that if the relatives did not stop making “disparaging remarks” about the father that I would lose more of my already limited parenting time–which would certainly mean no contact with my children.   

I am a victim of past abuse, who fought hard to rebuild my life so that my children could have the stable, peaceful home they deserve. I first met Mr. X when I was barely 18 years old after he targeted me for an online friendship and later enticed me to meet in person. The biggest mistake this I made was talking with this abuser—I have a “squeaky clean” background with no criminal history, no history of drug/alcohol use as the father does. I was a devoted stay at home mother, the primary caregiver of both children. I have been unjustly removed from the lives of my children, without any logical or legal reason. At the same time, the danger the father presents to these children is overlooked. I have worked hard to secure permanent housing for my family, and get support needed to rebuild our lives. I hold a steady job, attend church and am an active volunteer in my community. There is No evidence I has ever harmed my children., my kids love me and feel safe in my home.

I have been wrongly denied my rights to the children, and my parenting time, and since I cannot afford legal representation, I cannot adequately represent my case and really don’t understand the court proceedings or what my rights are. I do know that the law states I should receive a minimum of 25% parenting time, unless there is clear and convincing evidence that the parent would present a risk of serious harm to the children. There has been no evidence presented. No witnesses came forward. No expert reports. Nothing at all–no evidence against me that would require removing the children from my care. In fact, my children beg to come home, and all reports about our interactions have been positive. Clearly this is a case of great injustice.

Why is Family Court protecting a wanted fugitive, and punishing the Mother who has no criminal record and has been the childrens’ primary caregiver all of their lives??? Where is the justice in that??

-Emily Court/M21

 

UPDATE: Trying to resolve this issue in Hennepin County FJC only resulted in more legal insanity

About Emily Court

Mom & Kids Need "Just Us" To Fight Injustice in Family Court. "Emily Court" is a survivor of domestic violence and homelessness working to create a better life for her children, in a stable home free of violence. In her efforts to rebuild her life, she has not only encountered harassment and intimidation from her alleged abuser but faced systematic failures in family court that have empowered her alleged abuser and put her children at risk. Emily is fighting to keep her kids safe, and bring them home. Through writing and blogging, Emily is working to raise awareness about domestic violence, and the urgent need for family court reform. She is currently working on a memoir titled "'Til Prayers Are Answered".
This entry was posted in Family Court Injustice, Our Family Albulm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fugitive Dad Arrested on Vacation – Where are the Children?

  1. So sorry to hear about this, M21. This is NOT Right! If he is not capable of having the children, then they should automatically go to you. I suggest that you call the police in that city and ask for particulars! I am also sending you a private message.

    • M21 says:

      Susan-

      The kids are back home now.. and the dad is breaking yet another court order while the Mom who is not guilty of any crime or any wrong doing is being punished.. will write more later…

      Thanks for your support!

Comments are welcome on FCI. We appreciated thoughtful and respectful comments/feedback that offers a variety of views. Any view or opinion represented in the blog comments are personal and belong to the respective commentor. This blogger reserves the right to moderate comments for suitability and may remove or edit comments that contain abusive or offensive language, images, links or accusations. Comments may also be removed if they contain personal information, identifying information or sensitive details about your location, case, minor children, those involved in your case. Please do not post full articles from other sites, as it could be a violation of copyright or intellectual property laws. Thanks for visiting!!

