Mom, You’re a Winner: Child Explains Family Court

Recently, my children and I were eating dinner (during a visit) when my son DJ told me about a movie he recently watched.

DJ said: “Even though you lost in Court, you’re still a winner, Mom. I saw this movie and this guy was building robots for a race, and he built this really cool robot but it lost the race. The judges said someone else was the winner. But the people in the crowd liked the robot and said he should have won. So those 3 judges didn’t pick the right winner…the robot was the winner. And that’s kinda how it is for you too.”

It took all my strength not to cry. When I got in my car, alone and without my kids, the impact of what he said hit me…and I thanked God for giving my son this affirmation. I believe and trust that one day our prayers will be answered and my family will be reunited.

Emily Court/M21, Oct. 2011

mom's

About Emily Court

Mom & Kids Need "Just Us" To Fight Injustice in Family Court. I blog to raise awareness about problems existing in the family court system, and use my own story as a personal example of how the systemic failures in family court, and the Guardian ad Litem Program, affect families, in an effort to encourage needed reform. "Emily Court" is a survivor of domestic violence and homelessness working to create a better life for her children, in a stable home free of violence. In her efforts to rebuild her life, she has not only encountered harassment and intimidation from her alleged abuser but faced systematic failures in family court that have empowered her alleged abuser and put her children at risk. Emily is fighting to keep her kids safe, and bring them home. Through writing and blogging, Emily is working to raise awareness about domestic violence, and the urgent need for family court reform. She is currently working on a memoir titled "'Til Prayers Are Answered".
This entry was posted in Inspirational Quotes/Scripture, Our Family Albulm and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are welcome on FCI. We appreciated thoughtful and respectful comments/feedback that offers a variety of views. Any view or opinion represented in the blog comments are personal and belong to the respective commentor. This blogger reserves the right to moderate comments for suitability and may remove or edit comments that contain abusive or offensive language, images, links or accusations. Comments may also be removed if they contain personal information, identifying information or sensitive details about your location, case, minor children, those involved in your case. Please do not post full articles from other sites, as it could be a violation of copyright or intellectual property laws. Thanks for visiting!!

