City Pages Article Motivates Mom to Share Experiences about Family Law Judge

My experiences with Judge Patrick D Robben in Hennepin County Family Court

Judge Patrick D. Robben (Hennepin County, 4th Judicial District, Minnesota) has been featured in a new article in City Pages title “Gary Schumacher Choosing Jail Over Allowing the Biological Mom to See Their Daughter“. http://blogs.citypages.com/blotter/2015/05/garry_schumacher_chooses_jail_over_letting_the_biological_mom_see_his_daughter.php

The article is about a contested custody dispute, that seems rather complex for a one page article. I am reading it with an open mind, it seems like City Pages did not tell a complete story. ??

In any case, I thought the article did open for a door for me to share my own experiences with Judge Patrick Robben. Aka “Robben Kids” because he has robbed children from fit, loving parents and placed them in the custody of an abuser.

Judge Patrick Robben

I am re-posting my comments, and some additional **opinions**, here. All of my allegations are fully documented, and I have evidence to support everything I say.  Also note, Judge Robben is the most recent judge on my case, I had 3 other Hennepin County judges on my case (that started in June 2006) before him. So some of the actions mentioned are NOT a result of Judge Robben, I will do my best to note what he is responsible for. 

I have personal experience with Judge Robben – who has endangered my children by giving an alleged abuser sole custody, and Robben’s custody order in my case amounts to court-ordered parental alienation because I get only one visit a month with my children.

My daughter wrote me this note that says, “I love you that the world would turn into a heart. So that’s how much! Love you Mom Love.”

I am fit, loving parent with a squeaky clean background. I have been the children’s primary caregiver, and all reports about our relationship are positive. I volunteer in my community with people with disabilities and at-risk populations. I work in the healthcare field. I have taken over 2 years worth of parenting classes, and education relating to children, and parenting kids with special needs. I am more than able to provide proper care for my children. I am also raising another child who is happy and healthy, and doing well in my care.

I lost custody to a man named Martin Hegland, who, at the time of the court order, was a wanted fugitive with and had a long criminal and civil history, including a state commitment order. His criminal and behavioral history is consistent with symptoms exhibited by someone who has a “personality disorder” – which he was diagnosed with in the court ordered psych eval. Martin has never undergone any treatment or therapy, yet the courts awarded him SOLE custody. 

(Note: This is a partial record not the complete)

Martin was diagnosed by the court ordered psych eval as having a serious mental illness that is almost impossible to treat, and is characterized by anti-social behavior. He has been addicted to almost everything — gambling, street drugs, alcohol, pain pills. My child came home recently, and was yelling about “Stupid Walgreen’s won’t give Dad his pills for his back! They said he already has some. How does a child know that?!? I am concerned he is abusing pills again, as these are comments I have witnessed when he was seeking pills, and going to multiple pharmacies, doctors, dentists, the ER to obtain them.

There are over a dozen child abuse allegations against Martin, with both of my children suffering from PTSD due to abuse. To this day, the children continue to suffer from serious behavioral and emotional problems, which are indicative of trauma. (For more info on how abuse, trauma and adverse childhood experiences affect children: Take The ACE Quiz — And Learn What It Does And Doesn’t Mean)

Since being given sole custody, my children have been repeatedly harmed both physically and emotionally.When I file motions seeking to protect my children from abuse or emotional harm, or raise awareness of concerns, I am told by Judge Robben that I need counseling or that I am arguing old issues. Since when is the safety of a vulnerable child, who has physical marks on their body caused by an abusive adult, an “old issue” that does not need to be addressed? 

An injury to my child dismissed by Judge Robben. This is a bite mark, the red circle is a set of teeth impressions. The person who caused this injury is Lisa Michele Allis live-in cousin who has a strange relationship with my ex. She is also a PCA for my son. When I filed a motion and asked for a new PCA, Judge Robben refused.

I have been forced into mental health counseling that I do not need for over two years due to the recommendations of Jamie Manning, GAL, and rubber stamped by the Hennepin County judges.  I was forced into therapy that was not needed, while the ex abuser, Martin, who is diagnosed with a personality disorder, was given sole custody and was not required to attend treatment. When my counselor reported that she thought domestic violence occurred in my relationship, I was told that I needed more counseling. And threatened that if I did not stop talking about abuse, I would not be able to see my children. So I went to counseling, did not talk or express my true feelings, and parroted what the Judge and the GAL wanted to hear. In the meanwhile, my kids are falling apart in their father’s home, and continuing to make allegations of abuse.

My child also began to act out violently, and told his therapists (direct quote), “I learned my tantrums from Dad” and “I want to be the boss like Dad”.

Another incident documenting abuse. The daycare called CPS and reported that the children are playing “Call 911! Daddy’s here”.

 

My daughter stopped speaking at age 3 and was severely speech delayed. She had to attend therapeutic preschool as part of her treatment. To this day, she is withdrawn, has trouble socializing and therapist notes say she does not communicate with her father.

My son has severe psychological and behavioral issues, to the point the school said they are afraid for my child’s future. The school recommended a psychological assessment, specializing in child trauma, and Martin will not take  my child to therapist. I have asked Judge Robben, in a motion, to order the assessment and he refuses. Judge Robben instead orders me into mediation and tells me to “stop bringing up issues from the past”. In the meanwhile, my ex has pulled my child out of school to avoid detection.

Due to Judge “Robben Kids”, I get only one visit a month with my children. And Judge Robben told me that if I want more time I have to ask my ex abuser! It is humiliating, and frightening to beg my abuser to see my kids. He continues to emotionally abuse me. I do not get any holiday visits, no birthdays, no overnight visits, no school release days. I did not get to see or talk to my children on Mother’s Day.

My children are multi-racial and have lost their connection to their identity and culture as well. I took my children to church and they just stood there like statues– they forgot the words to the worship songs we once enjoyed, they did not remember how to pray, and felt like strangers in the church I am try to raise them in. My children do not identify with their multi-cultural (African American) heritage, and my child told me that he thinks all Indian people are dead because he does not see any. My children talk about Black History month in school but have no idea how it relates to them, and my family is from the South and has experienced many of these historical events, and participated in the Civil Rights movement. My children do not remember the names of cousins they once played with. And do not like many of the family recipes I prepare for them, because they are not familiar with the food anymore. I reported the alienation and Maternal Deprivation to Judge Robben and he completely ignored me. 

According to A Judge’s Guide to Making Child-Centered Decisions in Custody Cases Second Edition (American Bar Association), “There is no social science research to support the contention that the child will be harmed or unduly confused by exposure to different religions, ethnic, or cultural practices. Indeed, such exposure to their parents’ diverse backgrounds may have a positive effect on their development and may be critical to their sense of identity.”

I have submitted a mountain of evidence and even an expert forensic report – it does no good. Judge Robben has already made up his mind. He relied on the word of the Guardian ad Litem, Jamie L. Manning, even when there is no evidence to support anything she says (hearsay is not admissible as evidence in court). 

Thank you City Pages for exposing the failures of family court in your two articles, please keep investigating and reporting. So many families and children are being harmed. We need to raise awareness and then to demand reform. ”

****

Also read the comments about Judge Robbens on this City Pages article “Separated from their Kids, Parents Unite Against One Court Guardian” by Susan Du 2/18/2015: http://blogs.citypages.com/blotter/2015/02/separated_from_their_kids_parents_unite_against_one_court_guardian.php

Related: 

Children Play Call 911, Daddy’s Here! https://familycourtinjustice.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/children-play-call-911-2/

Family Court Awards Custody to Dad who Choked Child: https://familycourtinjustice.wordpress.com/2013/04/24/dad-choke-child-win-custody/

Family Court Robs Children of Their Identity: https://familycourtinjustice.wordpress.com/2014/03/27/family-court-robs-kids-identity/

Homeless Guy Moves in to Nanny Kids (when I brought this information to GAL Jamie Manning, she ignored my concerns and did not interview the homeless guy. Judge Robben also dismissed my concerns) https://familycourtinjustice.wordpress.com/2013/06/17/homeless-nanny-family-court/

 

About Emily Court

It takes "Just Us" To Fight Injustice in Family Court. I blog to raise awareness about problems existing in the family court system, and use my own story as a personal example of how the systemic failures in family court, and the Guardian ad Litem Program, affect families, in an effort to encourage needed reform. "Emily Court" is a survivor of domestic violence and homelessness working to create a better life for her children, in a stable home free of violence. In her efforts to rebuild her life, she has not only encountered harassment and intimidation from her alleged abuser but faced systematic failures in family court that have empowered her alleged abuser and put her children at risk. Emily is fighting to keep her kids safe, and bring them home. Through writing and blogging, Emily is working to raise awareness about domestic violence, and the urgent need for family court reform. She is currently working on a memoir titled "'Til Prayers Are Answered".
This entry was posted in Abuse Allegations & Documentation, Children Stolen by the Government, Family Court Injustice, Jamie Manning Guardian ad Litem, Judge Robben and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to City Pages Article Motivates Mom to Share Experiences about Family Law Judge

  1. My X is too smooth and has too much charisma and a convincing air to ever get caught for his white collar crimes. Most don’t seem to care about white collar crimes, anyway. And the system certainly doesn’t care about psychological abuse and control of any type. Other than the different ways of abusing, this response by the professionals in my situation is very familiar. I was warned to say XYZ, not the truth. I know I am not the only mother who was warned this. The system does what’s convenient. Individuals in the system do what they want, not necessarily what is ethical or in the best interests of the child.

Comments are welcome on FCI. We appreciated thoughtful and respectful comments/feedback that offers a variety of views. Any view or opinion represented in the blog comments are personal and belong to the respective commentor. This blogger reserves the right to moderate comments for suitability and may remove or edit comments that contain abusive or offensive language, images, links or accusations. Comments may also be removed if they contain personal information, identifying information or sensitive details about your location, case, minor children, those involved in your case. Please do not post full articles from other sites, as it could be a violation of copyright or intellectual property laws. Thanks for visiting!!

