Family Court Injustice – Get the Picture

A picture is worth a thousand words… or a thousand tears. 

These pictures were drawn by my child and show the devastating effects of family court on a child’s life; especially when the court awards custody and/or visitation to an identified abuser.

The picture on the left depicts our family – at the top “I Love You” is written with a smiling face next to it and a shiny heart sticker is added. Below the writing is a smiling picture of our famly.

The picture to the right is also drawn by my child and shows a little girl with wide staring eyes and black scribbles drawn over her mouth, silencing her. At her side is a menacing looking man staring at her (father).

I hold the Hennepin County Family Court System and the Minnesota Guardian ad Litem (GAL) program responsible for the ongoing trauma and suffering inflicted on my children. Due to the injustices of the court, my children were taken from a fit, loving mother who bravely escaped an abusive relationship in order to provide my children with a better life. My children were never allowed to come home, and never allowed to enjoy their childhood, because the judges in Hennepin County awarded sole custody to the identified abuser. The Hennepin County family court system awarded sole custody to the man who assaulted me (in front of my young children) and then threw us out in the street like trash, we actually were homeless for over a year. In total, there have been over a dozen reports of documented abuse. I have been punished for reporting concerns of abuse, and now only am allowed one visit a month with my children. My children have been estranged from their mother, family of origin, as well as their religious and cultural background. 

June 2016 will mark 10 years of fighting in family court… an effort to protect my children and to retain my custodial rights, as well as to have a reasonable visitation schedule. I will never stop fighting to keep my children safe, and to bring them home.

This blog is called “family court injustice” and I pray, one day, there will be justice for my family, and all others enduring this horrific battle against the systemic failures and injustice occurring in family court and the GAL program.

~ “Emily Court” © 2016

About Emily Court

It takes "Just Us" To Fight Injustice in Family Court. I blog to raise awareness about problems existing in the family court system, and use my own story as a personal example of how the systemic failures in family court, and the Guardian ad Litem Program, affect families, in an effort to encourage needed reform. Written by a survivor of domestic violence and homelessness working to create a better life for her children, in a stable home free of violence. In her efforts to rebuild her life, she has not only encountered harassment and intimidation from her alleged abuser but faced systematic failures in family court that have empowered her alleged abuser and put her children at risk. She has spent over a decade trapped in family court until her children finally aged out of the system. Through writing and blogging, FCI is working to raise awareness about domestic violence, and the urgent need for family court reform. She is currently working on a memoir titled "'Til Prayers Are Answered".
This entry was posted in Abuse Allegations & Documentation, Family Court Injustice, Jamie Manning Guardian ad Litem, Judge Robben and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Family Court Injustice – Get the Picture

  1. tori says:

    I’m so sorry hon, my story is virtually identical except for the fact that I only get about 3 days with my baby every 2 months. Harrassment/ court battles have been dragging on like this for 8 years so far (she’s only 9)! I can see many more years of this unfortunately! I also have to pay him money and I only earned about a 3rd of what he does! I lost everything and he has been backed to the hilt.

  2. Jorja says:

    This is very obvious. Why can’t the judges see the truth?

  3. Malia says:

    I have pictures like these too… my kids don’t even look the same from when I had them and from when the court gave custody to an abuser. Their clothes are dirty. They dont brush their teeth or hair. Alot of new medical problems. Lost all their friends. Just awful! I will keep fighting to keep them safe, whatever it takes.

  4. Pingback: Kangaroo (Family) Court Corruption Commission | Civil Rights in Family Law Florida

  5. Pingback: Lawyers Lie To Themselves and Their Clients – Family Law Reform

  6. Pingback: Bullied to Death ~ The Chris Mackney Story – Family Law Reform

  7. Pingback: Broward Sheriff’s Office Child Protective Investigations Section is in a state of crisis. | Children's Rights

  8. Pingback: Miami Rally ~ National Parents Day – Family Law Reform

  9. Pingback: Last testament of a loving father abused by the family court system and alienated from his children | Children's Rights

  10. Pingback: One is True – The Other is False – Stand Up For Zoraya

  11. Pingback: A picture is worth a thousand words… or a thousand tears. – Stand Up For Zoraya

Comments are welcome on FCI. We appreciated thoughtful and respectful comments/feedback that offers a variety of views. Any view or opinion represented in the blog comments are personal and belong to the respective commentor. This blogger reserves the right to moderate comments for suitability and may remove or edit comments that contain abusive or offensive language, images, links or accusations. Comments may also be removed if they contain personal information, identifying information or sensitive details about your location, case, minor children, those involved in your case. Please do not post full articles from other sites, as it could be a violation of copyright or intellectual property laws. Thanks for visiting!!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.